£3.995
FREE Shipping

Cuckoo Summer

Cuckoo Summer

RRP: £7.99
Price: £3.995
£3.995 FREE Shipping

In stock

We accept the following payment methods

Description

Tommy knows that Sally’s a bit wild and her stories of her past rather unreliable, but what is she hiding? Descriptions of country life and of the Fells demonstrate tenderness, and the Cumbrian countryside is almost another secondary character, but these descriptions aren’t laboured. Ideal class read for y5/6/7 to compliment or introduce a study of WWII but any keen young reader will enjoy this story.

His friend Sally Smith is a bit of a mystery, she is an evacuee From Newcastle but she doesn't tell anyone about home, or her family. There is an innocence to the children’s attitude to the wounded airman and the accompanying press release for the book mentions the suitability for fans of Whistle Down the Wind and I can well understand why. The novel is centred around the friendship of two children living on neighbouring farms: Tommy, whose father is solider who is missing in action, and Sally, an evacuee from Tyneside.They would also only drop off a case of books and leave us to run it – it was so lovely to have you on hand to chat to the children and recommend them books, as well as the small (but appreciated! There are echoes of that great storyteller Robert Westall, of Machine Gunners fame, but the story brings Goodnight Mister Tom to mind too – high praise, and thoroughly deserved. I was drawn to Cuckoo Summer because the title and cover reminded me of books I read as a child - nostalgia is a powerful force! It seems Mr Scarcross has little time for his evacuee, and nor does Miss Gently or others in the community. Her and Tommy's conversations end up extremely one-sided, where she doesn't listen to him or brushes off his valid concerns with the same energy of a Manic Pixie Dream Girl.

The lives of the people living on remote farms and the plight of evacuees sent to stay with people who should not be allowed near children are shockingly recounted.Sally’s sponsor, Mr Scarcross, a gruff bully, was a soldier who fought in World War 1 and he and the local Home Guard are intent on finding the missing navigator. What makes it stand out from other fiction of this genre is its incredible use of the setting of the Lake District. In the beginning, Tommy, our narrator, explains Sally’s dialect to us, when necessary, offering definitions for Geordie vocabulary which might be unfamiliar.

Author of eight novels, including The Season Ticket, Give Us This Day and Mr McCool, Jonathan's work has been filmed, staged and Radio 4 serialised. Cuckoo Summer is one of those books that you know is going to find a natural place alongside books like Goodnight Mr Tom (Michelle Magorian) and The Valley Of Lost Secrets (Lesley Parr); there is so much to recommend about it. Thrust into the drama of the Second World War, you’re thrown into an adventure with Tommy and Sally, who discover an injured German airmen and conspire to keep him safe from those who would shoot him on sight.But then they find a German airman, he'd parachuted out of a plane that was coming down in Woundale. Polly Crosby tells ReadingZone about her novel, This Tale is Forbidden (Scholastic), a fractured fairy tale set in a dystopian world. The place is almost a character in its own right, with an immersive understanding of farming at that time. Characters that have individual voices and personalities; a landscape that is as vibrant and interesting as the story; real danger; risk taking; hope, trust, friendship. The story starts in 1940, when Tommy and Sally have a life changing encounter with a wounded soldier - an airmen - hiding in the woods.

I think we need to meet nature in our books so we know what the British countryside should really sound, smell and look like. Into this world his new friend Sally, an evacuee who lives on the neighbouring farm, appears like a breath of fresh air, full of jokes, chat and bravado, she is the type of child that others follow. Given that Earle wrote WHEN THE SKY FALLS, one of my favourite wartime stories, as well as the more recently published WHILE THE STORM RAGES, which I also thoroughly enjoyed, my expectations were high.You guys are such a force for good and I am a passionate supporter of Indie booksellers, so I'm so happy this worked out well (I'd love to know how many books were sold if you have it to hand - it felt like quite a lot! It kept me interested from the first page to the last, and even gave a little emotional kick at the end. I only started to vaguely feel interested in her when her secrets came to light, and even then she was frustrating. What’s more, it seems the airman is injured and needs more than Sally’s stolen food and first aid kit.



  • Fruugo ID: 258392218-563234582
  • EAN: 764486781913
  • Sold by: Fruugo

Delivery & Returns

Fruugo

Address: UK
All products: Visit Fruugo Shop